Statement from VPDGS Tyrus Miller on the Executive Order on Visa Processes and US Entry

January 31, 2017

[Updated 2/6/2017]

On Friday, January 27, 2017, President Donald Trump issued an executive order restricting entry into the United States for 90 days for individuals from seven countries: Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. 

The order itself and its implementation since Friday have been highly confusing and disruptive. Serious questions about its legality / constitutionality have been raised, and several courts have been engaged in legal actions opposing the Executive Order. Several key aspects of the Executive Order remain quite uncertain. The situation may be subject to rapid changes over the next period.

On behalf of myself and the Division of Graduate Studies, I want to express our dismay at the disruption, hardship, and anxiety this Executive Order may have caused our international community of students and scholars at UC Santa Cruz and their family members. 

We unwaveringly affirm the invaluable contributions of scholars, students, and staff from all over the world to our community and to our shared mission of learning and research. 

The UC Office of the President has issued a statement regarding the Executive Order,  as well as Guidance to the UC community regarding its implementation. The UCSC Office of International Student and Scholar Services also maintains a webpage updated with information for international students regarding the Executive Order.

We will continue to monitor the situation closely, and expect to continue receiving guidance from the UC Office of the President and the Chancellor of UC Santa Cruz about supporting all members of our community affected by this Executive Order. We will communicate relevant information to the campus community via email, as well as on our website and across our social media channels (Twitter, Facebook).


Tyrus Miller

Vice Provost and Dean, Graduate Studies


2/6/2017: From UCOP, How UC is working to address the executive ban on entry to the US by travelers from certain countries

See Also