2020 Graduate Research Symposium Winners

16th Annual Graduate Research Symposium

Online Zoom Presentations
May 8, 2020, 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.


Shirin Bakhshay

Tie for Best Overall, $1000
Shirin Bakhshay
Social Sciences Division
Satisfying the Urge to Punish: Exploring Strategies for Increasing Support for Restorative Justice Practices

Mali'o Kodis Tie for Best Overall, $1000
Mali'o Kodis
Physical and Biological Sciences Division
Coastal Science and Policy
Strategic Retreat for Resilient Climate Adaptation
Joseph Finkel Best of the Arts Division, $250
Joseph Finkel
Music + Mycology = Local Musicology: John Cage and the UC Santa Cruz Special Collections
Vishal Chakraborty Best of the Baskin School of Engineering, $250
Vishal Chakraborty
Computer Science
Possible Winners on Partial Chains
Taylor Kurupas Best of the Humanities Division, $250
Taylor Kurupas
Stereotyping the Stereo: Sound, Space, Race, and Technology in New York City from the 1970-1980s
Nolan Smyth Best of the Physical and Biological Sciences Division, $250
Nolan Smyth
Primordial Black Holes as Dark Matter
Abigail Walsh Best of the Social Sciences Division, $250
Abigail Walsh
Examining the Impact of Nonbinary and Gender-Diverse Television Characters on Attitudes and Behaviors