Winners of the 2018 Graduate Research Symposium on April 27: Michael Lavell (Chancellor's Award), John Selberg (Engineering Dean's Award), Tiffany Lockett (Social Sciences Dean's Award), VP and Dean of the Division of Graduate Studies Tyrus Miller, Ka-eul Yoo (Humanities Dean's Award), Anna Lowe (Dean's Award), David Coulter (Physical and Biological Sciences Dean's Award), and Mitchell Winter (Arts Dean's Award)

14th Annual Graduate Research Symposium

McHenry Library
Information Commons South and Adjoining Classrooms
April 27, 2018
1:15 p.m. Kickoff
1:30–3:30 p.m. Judging

The UC Santa Cruz Graduate Research Symposium offers graduate students from every division the opportunity to discuss their research with colleagues on campus and with the public. Graduate students present their work in the following formats and venues:

  • 8-minute-maximum talk with or without visual aids, which may be an overhead-projected slide presentation (e.g., Microsoft PowerPoint) in a library classroom bordering the 2nd-floor Information Commons South
  • 3’8-1/2" wide x 3’11-3/4" high poster in the open-forum showcase of the library’s Information Commons South
  • recorded media presentation in the open-forum showcase of the library’s Information Commons South

The chancellor, vice provost and dean of the Division of Graduate Studies, and the five academic deans sponsor symposium awards decided by judges invited by the Division of Graduate Studies from among faculty, staff, postdoctoral scholars, alumni, trustees, and community members.

The winners of the 14th annual symposium at McHenry Library on May 12, 2017, are listed here. Scenes from 2018’s symposium are below.

Graduate Research Symposium image 1 Graduate Research Symposium Tyrus Miller and Nathan Westrup

Suraiya Jetha, Rachel Neuman, and Nathan Westrup at the Graduate Research Symposium Graduate Research Symposium participant

Graduate Research Symposium banner Award Reception winners with Tyrus Miller