Grad Slam Judges

We are proud to announce our judges for the 2016 Grad Slam live event! 

  • Scott Brandt, Ph.D.

    Scott Brandt, Ph.D.

    Dr. Scott A. Brandt is Vice Chancellor for Research and Professor of Computer Science at the University of California, Santa Cruz.  He spent ten years in industry prior to joining the UC Santa Cruz faculty in 1999.  He holds eight patents and has launched three startups.  In 2014, he was elected Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors.  

    Dr. Brandt has relationships with industry and the U.S. National Laboratories. On campus, he is the co-founder and former Director of the Institute for Scalable Scientific Data Management, a collaboration of UCSC and Los Alamos National Lab; he is founder and former Director of the UCSC Systems Research Laboratory; and he is co-founder and former Associate Director of the UCSC Storage Systems Research Center (SSRC).  He also served as Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Studies in the Baskin School of Engineering.

    Dr. Brandt received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Colorado and his M.S. in Computer Science and Bachelor’s in Mathematics from the University of Minnesota.


  • Bruce Daniels, Ph.D.

    Bruce Daniels, Ph.D.

    Bruce Daniels has a Ph.D. in Hydroclimatology (the science of climate effects on water resources) from UC Santa Cruz. For 15 years he has been an elected Director of the Soquel Creek Water District and now serves as the President of its Board. He previously was appointed by the Governor to two terms on our State Regional Water Quality Control Board and served as its Chair.

    He earned a B.S. and M.S. in Computer Science from M.I.T. and enjoyed a distinguished 30+ year career in the computer industry. This included work at Apple on the implementation team of the first Apple Macintosh Computer and earlier the software manager role for its conceptual predecessor the Lisa Computer.

  • Ted Holladay

    Ted Holladay

    Founder of Studio Holladay, and the Creative Director and newly-appointed Vice President of HZDG (Hirshorn Zuckerman Design Group), Ted Holladay has been leading cross disciplinary strategy and creative teams toward a shared vision for over 30 years. In 2005 Ted founded Studio Holladay with the intent of creating a brand communications and design firm like no other – the kind of space that he had longed to work with as a client, and for as an employee.

    Ted has led the creation of comprehensive design, brand, and marketing programs as well as digital marketing projects for regional and national tier clients which speak to people with a powerful unified voice. Ted has worked with government and public brands, along with associated stakeholders. Successful brand and online work for clients such as Microsoft, Apple, Plantronics, The Santa Cruz Economic Development Agency, The Museum of Art & History in Santa Cruz, NextSpace and The Santa Cruz Public Libraries have firmly established HZ and the inspired team in Santa Cruz as one of the leading goto brand communications and design firms in the region.
  • Bonnie Primbsch

    Bonnie Primbsch

    Before convincing KUSP to let her take the helm there, Bonnie Primbsch has for the past 15 years inspired its listeners to give money to a radio signal they could get for free -- and hopes to do so again this month during the public radio station's $800,000 Mayday Campaign. She has also convinced people in conflict to be in the same room and work things out for the Conflict Resolution Center of Santa Cruz County. In 2003 she persuaded the Saturn Cafe to fund her first training in mediation skills, and became the restaurant's first official Auntie. Back in the 90's, she compelled Bonny Doon Vineyard's visitors to buy wines made from grapes they had never heard of. Ms Primbsch understands the importance of a well-executed presentation -- so she needed no convincing to serve as one of our judges.

    Ms. Primbsch holds a B.A. in Language Studies from UC Santa Cruz.
  • Lynda Rogers, Ed.D

    Lynda Rogers, Ed.D

    Lynda M. Rogers earned her B.A. in Literature at UC Santa Cruz, teaching credential, administrative services credential and M.A. at San Jose State University, and her Ed.D. in Organizational Leadership from the University of La Verne. She was the Director of Science and Technology for the Santa Cruz County Office of Education, a science educator and consultant for the California Department of Education. Lynda has been Dean of UCSC Extension since 2010, and Executive Director of Scout since 2012. She currently oversees 45 academic programs, 80 administrative staff, 500 academic personnel and 18,000 students in Silicon Valley. Lynda is active and deeply committed to the local community. She is a Pyramid sponsor of the Santa Clara Chamber of Commerce and has held a seat on the Board of Directors for the Chamber and local foundations and has been a member of several service clubs in Silicon Valley. 

  • William Tysseling

    William Tysseling

    Bill Tysseling has been the President and CEO of the Santa Cruz Area Chamber of Commerce since 2007. His prior work includes university administration for Iowa State University, where he was the Director of the University’s division of Communications and Education Services, and for UC Santa Cruz, where he served as director of Extension’s Business and Management Department. He worked for a decade as an economic development consultant and administrator. He practiced and taught law for 17 years with an emphasis on commercialization of new technologies and the administration of intellectual property and served as a judicial magistrate for 2 years. He began his freshman year of college as music major and wonders if his employment history would have been more stable if he had stayed with a band.

  • David Watson

    David Watson

    David Watson is the original and current owner of The Literary Guillotine. He graduated from UC Santa Cruz in 1979. He had an illustrious career as a High School History teacher before working 30 plus years in all aspects of the publishing industry. David established the Guillotine in 1990 and New Pacific Press in 2004, and is still hawking books after all these years.

Biographies provided by judges and/or judge's affiliate(s).

See Also